Final reflection

“Learning is at the heart of personal change and transformation, and the learner needs to take risks and deal with changing situations in his or her environment.” (Kop et al, 2011)

This sentence pretty well sums up what FDOL has been about for me: widening my comfort zone.

Reviewing my old posts:

The digital me Well, yes, here I am, out of my cave for several weeks now, actually thriving! I’m thinking of the final piece of advice for the south-east quadrant in Coomey & Stephensons paper (2001): “Beware that learners could become so involved in browsing that they might not be thinking about the learning related to specific subject matter (Ewing et al, 1999)” – that’s me!

The digital me #2 The first confusing weeks condensated into this post; I was trying really hard to get my head around all this. Looking back, it’s not until now, some four weeks later, that I really feel I know what I’m supposed to do (and where).

Halfway digitally literate? Just a few days later, in a new, more active group, motivation goes up and I’m having fun. Also getting to be a real sucker for comments on my posts! Peer feedback is a truly forceful instrument.

Flexibilities galore My earlier experiences of distance learning from The digital me #2 comes to mind – the flexible learning back then differs in many aspects from this ‘new’ flexible – but some of it remains firmly the same.

Collaboration anywhere in sight? Collaboration in the FDOL frame has been a real pleasure. Being able to relax into a group of people, each doing their thing while simultaneously contributing towards a common whole, was something I didn’t expect. There has been an easy mixture of effort and effortlessness in the group’s work combined with a willingness to take on responibility for this or that. Great!! When I started working on this topic I felt recalcitrant to it and wanted to remain sitting on the fence. I discussed the idea of creativity in groups with a friend who is a copywriter. His view on that is pretty much summed up by this newspaper article: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/15/opinion/sunday/the-rise-of-the-new-groupthink.html (and don’t miss the first of the comments!).

Supporting learners Two hours after publishing this post there already was a comment posted on it: “You really describe spot on the changes over time! You can really think about why there is now such a great need for support when everything is so well organized and more goal-oriented – what happened along the way?” – a good example of support for the learner and a new thought there too, just the way you’d like it! The way I see it, this course has been exemplary in its construction in so far as it has promoted and had us participants experience the points it has set out to make: the importance of well thought-out tasks, well-managed group-work, teacher and peer support etc.

OK – so for remaining enigmas? Exactly how private is a private community on Google+? Still some of the tools work in a slightly haphazard way, like sometimes I see the green telephone receiver symbol for google hangout, sometimes I don’t. Or am I the haphazard bit?

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Final reflection

  1. I have the same question regarding Google+. It is a quick and effective way to build up a study community but, especially in cases when the material that is studied is sensitive, how do we do? how correct would be to discuss a clinical case on Google+? great post, wonderfully structured. my will be much less so 🙂

  2. The first sentence is a good reflection of what can be a cause of inertia to change – you have to change yourself! A process that we probably need to make pleasurable to engage our students to mentally long for something else than the comfortable powerpoint lecture.

  3. Thank you for a nice reflection on the FDOL141 course. I have also experienced how powerful feedback is as fuel in the FDOL context. Supporting a high degree of peer feedback promotes the construction of knowledge growth.

Leave a Reply

